India take on Sri Lanka in the seventh match of the 2016 Asia Cup T20 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Bangladesh on 1 March (Tuesday).

Where to watch

Match starts at 1.30pm GMT. There is no live coverage of the game in the UK. In India, Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 3 will telecast the match live.


The seventh game of 2016 Asia Cup will see India and Sri Lanka, who are very familiar with each other, clash at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium on 1 March (Tuesday). However, both India and Sri Lanka come into this game on the back of vastly differing fortunes.

India, which lead the table and are the most in-form team in the tournament, are playing such exciting cricket that no wonder that they are tipped to win not only the Asia Cup but also the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup in March.

In what must be encouraging news for the team management, the fast/medium bowlers have stepped up and made important contributions with their performance. Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah have reinforced skipper M.S. Dhoni's faith in them, answering critics who questioned their place in the squad. The batting has been lead by the ever reliable Virat Kohli, whose battle with Mohammad Amir in their last game against Pakistan was a treat to watch for cricket lovers. India are expected to go in with the same XI that played Pakistan in their last game.

Sri Lanka have had a torrid time of late and Bangladesh added to that, beating them by 23 runs on 28 February (Sunday). Their batting, especially, has struggled to come to terms with the pitches on offer and has failed to put up enough runs on the board. Much was expected from their T20 stalwarts Tilakaratne Dilshan and Angelo Mathews but they have disappointed so far. Dinesh Chandimal is the only batsman who has tried to stick it out and play for the team.

Their bowlers have done a decent job so far but if they are to remain in contention for a place in the final, their batsmen will need to fire.


India to win

Betting odds (bet365)

  • India to win: 2/5
  • Sri Lanka to win:2

Team news


Squad: MS Dhoni (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Parthiv Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Bhuveneshwar Kumar, Pawan Negi, Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya.

Sri Lanka

Squad: Shehan Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dinesh Chandimal , Angelo Mathews, Chamara Kapugedara, Dasun Shanaka, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Sachitra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Lasith Malinga (c), Dushmantha Chameera, Niroshan Dickwella, Milinda Siriwardana, Jeffrey Vandersay