Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic
Rafael Nadal-Novak Djokovic [Reuters] REUTERS

The 2014 International Premier Tennis League (IPTL) player draft has ended with the teams spending top dollar on the likes of Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic.

The World No 1 was snapped up by the team based in Mumbai, India, along with legendary Pete Sampras. Britain's Andy Murray will be a part of the Bangkok-based team for the first edition of the IPTL.

Mahesh Bhupathi, the brain behind the ITPL, is delighted to see Nadal joining the India-based team. The multiple Grand Slam winner said after the player draft the teams are well balanced for the tournament, which will take place later this year.

"As an Indian and the owner of the tournament I'm delighted that the world No.1 Rafa Nadal is playing for an Indian city. I think the teams are evenly balanced, I'm happy for the players who have been picked, but in a four team playoff there was always going to be some players who were not going to be picked," Bhupathi explained.

IBTimes UK brings you the final team-wise list.


  • Andy Murray
  • Victoria Azarenka
  • Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
  • Carlos Moya
  • Daniel Nestor
  • Kirsten Flipkens


  • Novak Djokovic
  • Caroline Wozniacki
  • Goran Ivanisevic
  • Janko Tipsarevic
  • Nenad Zimonjic
  • Martina Hingis
  • Malek Jaziri


  • Rafael Nadal
  • Pete Sampras
  • Ana Ivanovic
  • Gael Monfils
  • Rohan Bopanna
  • Sania Mirza
  • Fabrice Santoro


  • Andre Agassi
  • Serena Williams
  • Tomas Berdych
  • Lleyton Hewitt
  • Patrick Rafter
  • Daniela Hantuchova
  • Bruno Soares
  • Nicholas Kyrgios