Eric Bailly
Pereira and Bailly among those selected for China trip after impressing against Wigan. Getty


  • The 34-year-old striker has been handed an extended break ahead of the new season.
  • Rooney, Smalling and Rashford named in travelling party.
  • Tyler Blackett and Guillermo Varela miss out with moves away from Old Trafford looming.

Jose Mourinho has named his 25-man Manchester United squad for the preseason tour of China. New signings Eric Bailly and Henrik Mkhitaryan are included after making their debuts in the friendly against Wigan Athletic on Saturday 16 July, but there is no place for Zlatan Ibrahimovic.

The 34-year-old striker has been given an extended break from Mourinho ahead of his first season in the Premier League.

Defenders Tyler Blackett and Guillermo Varela also miss out completely, amid claims they are set to become the first casualties of the new manager's revolution at Old Trafford.

Varela, who stepped into the first-team last season during a desperate injury crisis before making eight appearances, is wanted by Bundesliga club Frankfurt. Blackett, meanwhile, has been deemed surplus to requirements after a disappointing loan spell at Celtic last season.

England trio Wayne Rooney, Chris Smalling and Marcus Rashford have all been named in the squad but it remains to be seen what role they will play following their Euro 2016 campaign. Axel Tuanzebe and Timothy Fosu-Mensah, both 18-years-old, also make the trip, as do Andreas Pereira and Will Keane, who struck in the 2-0 win over Wigan.

United set out for the Far East for International Champions Cup matches against Borussia Dortmund (22 July) and Manchester City (25 July), before taking on Galatasaray in Gothenburg on 30 July.

Mourinho's side then return to face Premier League champions Leicester City in the FA Community Shield at Wembley on 7 August.

Man Utd squad travelling to China: De Gea, Romero, Johnstone, Bailly, Blind, Fosu-Mensah, Jones, McNair, Rojo, Shaw, Smalling, Tuanzebe, Valencia, Carrick, Herrera, Januzaj, Lingard, Mata, Memphis, Mkhitaryan, A.Pereira, Young, Keane, Rashford, Rooney.