jorge lorenzo
Jorge Lorenzo won the Spanish MotoGP in 2015 Getty

The fourth race of the 2016 season is here with leader Honda Marc Marquez looking to gain a substantial lead over second-placed Jorge Lorenzo of Yamaha in the Spanish Grand Prix.

Where to Watch Live

The first practice session of the Spanish Grand Prix, which takes place at the Jerez Circuit, starts at 1.25pm BST, with BT Sport 2 and BT Sports 2 HD providing live coverage in the UK.

Live coverage of the second practice session starts at 5.35pm BST. Real-time internet updates are available on MotoGP's official website.

Track Facts

  • Circuit Name: Circuit de Jerez
  • First MotoGP Race: 2002
  • Circuit Length: 4.4km
  • Race Distance: 119.4km
  • No of Laps: 27
  • Most Wins: Valentino Rossi (6)
  • 2015 Winner: Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha)
  • 2015 Pole: Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha)

Rider's championship review

Honda's Marquez goes into the fourth race of the season still leading the championship leaderboard with 66 points. The second and third positions are occupied by two Yamaha riders Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi who have registered 45 and 33 points respectively.

Spaniard Lorenzo who won the Spanish MotoGP last year will be the focus of all eyes after confirming that he is moving to Team Ducati next year. He will be looking for a repeat performance of last year while nine-time World Champion Rossi will be hoping to win his first race of the season.