Click here to follow IBTimes UK's live blog between Mumbai Indians v Rising Pune Supergiants

Kieron Pollard
Kieron Pollard is fit to face Rising Pune Supergiants says Ricky Ponting Getty

Click here to follow IBTimes UK's live blog between Mumbai Indians v Rising Pune Supergiants

Mumbai Indians will take on Rising Pune Supergiants in the first match of the 2016 Indian Premier League (IPL) at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium on 9 April (Saturday).

Where to watch live

Match starts at 3:30pm GMT/8pm IST. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 3 and Sky Sports 3 HD in the UK. Set Max, Sony Six, Sony Six HD, Sony ESPN and Sony ESPN HD will telecast it in India. Click here for live streaming link.


Mumbai Indians are the defending champions as they won their second title after defeating Chennai Super Kings in the final in May 2015. The Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals have been suspended from the IPL for two years.

Two new teams have been added in the ninth edition of the tournament — Rising Pune Supergiants and Gujarat Lions. The Supergiants will be led by India's captain MS Dhoni and they will face Mumbai Indians in the opening fixture of the season.

Both teams have key players, who impressed during the recently concluded ICC T20 World Cup 2016, which was won by West Indies. In addition to this, Kevin Pietersen is one of the star attractions of Rising Pune Supergiants and will be a key player for them.

Rohit Sharma will be the key player for Mumbai Indians as he will lead their batting division. In the absence of Lasith Malinga — who is struggling with an injury — Jasprit Bumrah will have to fill in his shoes.


Mumbai Indians to win

Betting odds (betway)

  • Mumbai Indians to win: 8/11
  • Rising Pune Supergiants to win: 11/10

Team news

Mumbai Indians

Possible XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Parthiv Patel (wk), Lendl Simmons, Ambati Rayudu, Jos Buttler, Corey Anderson, Kieron Pollard, Jagadeesha Suchith, Hardik Pandya, Harbhajan Singh, Jasprit Bumrah

Rising Pune Supergiants

Possible XI: Ajinkya Rahane, Faf du Plessis, Kevin Pietersen, Steven Smith, MS Dhoni (c&wk), Thisara Perera, Irfan Pathan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Murugan Ashwin, Ishwar Pandey, Ishant Sharma