Ireland v Netherlands
Paul Stirling (centre) celebrates taking Wesley Barresi's wicket when Ireland and Netherlands clashed during 2011 Cricket World Cup. [Reuters]

Netherlands take on Ireland in their last group stage fixture at the Sylhet Stadium in Bangladesh on Friday.

Where to Watch Live

The play starts at 9:30am GMT. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD. Follow live text updates of the game on ESPNCricinfo.


Netherlands come into this game having suffered a shock defeat right at the end against Zimbabwe.

The Dutch got off to a poor start and lost opener Stephan Myburgh (0) in the first over. Wesley Barresi was the next to depart in the second over scoring 12 runs. They were kept in check by the Zimbabwean bowlers as opener Michael Swart (3) was run out by Tendai Chatara with just 19 runs on the board.

Tom Cooper and captain Peter Borren attempted to kick-start a partnership as the duo scored 16 runs in the next seven deliveries. Despite the skipper's dismissal Tom went on a rampage while his brother Ben Cooper managed to score only 20 runs.

Tom completed his half-century remained unbeaten to score 72 runs alongside Mudassar Bukhari who scored 14 as Netherlands managed 140 runs in 20 overs.

However, the Zimbabweans surpassed the target in the final ball with Vusi Sibanda smashing a six as Hamilton Masakadza and Brendan Taylor's knocks of 43 and 49 respectively helped them go second in the table above Netherlands due to superior Net Run-Rate.

Meanwhile, Ireland registered their second win in the tournament after beating United Arab Emirates (UAE) in their second group stage game on Wednesday.

The Irish were in a strong position to win the game having restricted their opponents to just 123 runs in 20 overs, while chipping in a strong batting display.

The only disappointment in their innings came in the second over when Paul Stirling (8) had to retire hurt having suffered a knock to his elbow in the previous over.

Skipper William Porterfield and Ed Joyce (43) suffered no loss of focus as the duo posted a partnership of 80 runs before the latter was dismissed in the 13<sup>th over.

However, the captain stayed on while his side lost two more wickets in Kevin O'Brien and Andrew Poynter who made zero and four runs respectively.

The scoreboard read 101 runs with the loss of three wickets when the game was forced to halt as the floodlights went off due to power failure. Porterfield made 33 runs in total and had Gary Wilson to support him at the other end.

Once the lights came back, the Irish added two more runs before another power failure threatened to disrupt the game.

With the lights slowly creeping back on rains played villain and Ireland were handed a revised target of 83 runs via Duckworth-Lewis method. Having already surpassed that score, they secured a 21-run victory which put them on top of the Group B table with four points.

A win for Ireland will seal their progress to the Super-10 stage of the tournament, while a win for Netherlands will force the Net Run-Rate to determine the top team if Zimbabwe too win their fixture against UAE.

Team News


Probable Lineup: Stephan Myburgh, Michael Swart, Wesley Barresi (wk), Tom Cooper, Peter Borren (c), Ben Cooper, Logan van Beek, Mudassar Bukhari, Timm van der Gugten, Pieter Seelaar, Ahsan Malik


Probable Lineup: William Porterfield (c), Paul Stirling, Ed Joyce, Andrew Poynter, Gary Wilson (wk), Kevin O'Brien, Stuart Thompson, Max Sorensen, Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Tim Murtagh