Three additions have been made to the existing 109 officially named chemical elements in the periodic table. Elements 110, 111, and 112 have been named darmstadtium (Ds), roentgenium (Rg), and copernicium (Cn), respectively.

The general assembly of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP), held at the Institute of Physics (IOP) in London on Friday, approved the naming suggestions made by the Joint Working Party on the Discovery of Elements.

Robert Kirby-Harris, secretary-general of IUPAP and CEO of IOP, said, "The naming of these elements has been agreed in consultation with physicists around the world, and we're delighted to see them now being introduced to the periodic table."