Martin Guptill
Martin Guptill's 90 helped him bag the man of the match award in the first ODI against Australia Getty

New Zealand will take on Australia in the second of the three One Day Internationals (ODIs) at Westpac Stadium, Wellington, on 6 February.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 1am GMT. Live TV coverage is available on Sky Sports 1 and Sky Sports 2 HD. Click here for the live streaming link.


New Zealand registered a massive 159-run win over the world champions in the first ODI, which is their second-biggest against Australia. Steven Smith won the toss and elected to field, which did not go in Australia's favour right from the start.

The 79-run opening partnership between Martin Guptill and Brendon McCullum gave the hosts a good start. Despite losing Kane Williamson for a duck, New Zealand bounced back with another impressive partnership between Guptill and Henry Nicholls – 100 runs – for the third wicket.

This helped New Zealand post a total of 307 runs for the loss of seven wickets in 50 overs. In reply, the Australian top order collapsed and they lost six wickets after posting just 41 runs on the board.

George Bailey, Glen Maxwell and Mitchell Marsh collectively scored two runs, while the latter two were dismissed without opening their account. It was Matthew Wade and James Faulkner's 30 plus individual score helped Australia avoid a humiliating defeat against New Zealand.

Shaun Marsh will be replaced by Usman Khawaja for the second ODI. Additionally, Adam Zampa will come in place of the injured James Faulkner and the former will make his ODI debut against the 2015 World Cup finalist.


New Zealand to win

Betting odds (betway)

  • New Zealand to win: 19/20
  • Australia to win: 17/20

Team news

New Zealand

Possible XI: Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum (C), Kane Williamson, Henry Nicholls, Grant Elliott, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi (WK), Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Matt Henry, Trent Boult.


Possible XI: Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Steven Smith (C), George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade (WK), John Hastings, Adam Zampa, Kane Richardson, Josh Hazlewood.