Chelsea begin the defence of their Premier League title with a home game against Swansea City after the fixtures for the 2015-16 season were announced.

Jose Mourinho's side travel to last year's runners-up Manchester City in their second game of the campaign before a trip to West Bromwich Albion.

City start their campaign against The Baggies at The Hawthorns before facing last year's champions, prior to taking on Everton.

FA Cup winners Arsenal host West Ham United on the opening weekend before an away game at Crystal Palace precedes the visit of Liverpool.

Manchester United's second campaign under Louis van Gaal starts against Tottenham Hotspur before matches against Aston Villa and Newcastle United.

United are due to face Liverpool at Old Trafford on 12 September before the return game at Anfield on 12 January.

Brendan Rodgers' side begin their season where they ended the 2014-15 term, away at Stoke City where they were defeated 6-1 on the final day of last term.

Elsewhere, AFC Bournemouth being their maiden Premier League season at home to Aston Villa while Watford and Norwich City's return to the top flight starts against Everton and Crystal Palace respectively.

The other opening weekend games see Leicester City face Sunderland, while Steve McClaren begins his reign at Newcastle United against Southampton.