glenn maxwell
Glenn Maxwell scored 145* in the first T20 against Sri Lanka, his maiden T20 International ton Getty

Sri Lanka host Australia in the second and final game of the two-match Twenty20 International (T20I) series at the R Premadasa Stadium on 9 September (Friday).

Where to watch live

Match starts at 2.30pm BST. Live TV coverage of the match in the United Kingdom is available on British Eurosport 2.


Sri Lanka's struggles in the shorter formats of the game continued on 6 September, when they suffered a 85-run loss to Australia in the first T20 International at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

The hosts were disappointing both with the bat and the ball. They gave away 263 runs in 20 overs and then failed with the bat by getting bowled out for 178 runs.

Only skipper Dinesh Chandimal and batsman Chamara Kapugedera came out of the game with some credit, scoring 58 and 43 runs respectively. In what will be Tillakaratne Dilshan's last game for Sri Lanka, they will look to give him a perfect farewell by winning the second T20 and thereby tying the series.

Visitors Australia who have not quite cracked the T20 format showed what they are capable of, posting 263 runs, the highest total in 20-over history. That they got there was thanks to the brilliance of Glenn Maxwell, who scored an unbeaten 145 runs off just 65 balls, in a knock that included 14 fours and nine massive sixes.

Maxwell, in his knock of 145, became the batsman to register a century in his maiden innings as opener. The Big Show as Maxwell is called, got good support from Usman Khawaja and Travis Head to help Australia put a massive score on the board.

The bowlers with 263 runs to play with, looked comfortable with Mitchell Starc and Scott Boland taking three wickets each to help Australia register an 85-run victory. The visitors will most likely play the same XI that took the field on Tuesday.


Australia to win

Betting odds (ladbrokes)

  • Sri Lanka to win: 5/4
  • Australia to win: 8/13

Team news

Sri Lanka

Possible XI: Kusal Perera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dinesh Chandimal (c & wk), Kusal Mendis, Chamara Kapugedera Thisara Perera, Sachith Pathirana, Sachithra Senanayake, Suranga Lakmal, Kasun Rajitha.


Possible XI: David Warner (c), Glenn Maxwell, Usman Khawaja, Travis Head, George Bailey, Moises Henriques, Peter Nevill (wk), James Faulkner, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Scott Boland.