US PGA Championship
New Jersey's Baltusrol Golf Club last held the US PGA Championship in 2005 Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

Following hot on the heels of a truly memorable battle between Henrik Stenson and Phil Mickelson at The Open, the 98th US PGA Championship takes place at Baltusrol Golf Club's lower course in Springfield, New Jersey from 28-31 July. A spectacular thunderstorm engulfed the area on Monday after warnings over high temperatures and more extreme weather is expected as the weekend progresses.

Where to watch live

In the United Kingdom, live coverage of all four rounds of the year's fourth and final major golf tournament is available on Sky Sports 1 HD and Sky Sports 4 HD. Each of the first two rounds are broadcast from 18.00 BST, with the final couple beginning earlier at 16.00 BST.

The BBC will be providing text updates and 5 Live has radio commentary beginning each night at 20.00 BST.


How do golf's elite even begin to follow up that outstanding finish at Royal Troon? In one of the most captivating duels the sport has ever seen, Rio-bound Stenson finally ended his wait for that elusive first major by carding a record-equalling 8-under 63 to finish on a 20-under 264 for the tournament. His total was the lowest 72-hole score ever recorded at one of the main tournaments.

Five-time champion Mickelson certainly played his part in pursuit of the famous silver Claret Jug, finishing as a major runner-up for the 11th time despite a bogey-free final-day 6-under 65 that left him on 17-under. That score would have seen Lefty win all but four of the last 144 editions of The Open and the fact that eventual third-place finisher JB Holmes was 11 shots back is testament to the staggering quality of the leading pair.

Henrik Stenson
Henrik Stenson will be aiming to replicate his sublime Open form in New Jersey Scott Halleran/Getty Images

Thankfully for Mickelson, he does not have long to dwell on such a painful defeat as the US PGA Championship rolls along less than two weeks later. The 46-year-old American actually won the event for the first and only time on its last visit to Baltusrol, earning a dramatic final-hole win over Steve Elkington and Thomas Bjorn after storm delays 11 years ago.

Stenson will certainly be among the favourites after his scintillating showing in South Ayrshire, but predicting major winners has now become a very dangerous and unpredictable game. Along with the Swede's Open victory, Danny Willett's Masters success and Dustin Johnson's controversial US Open win at Oakmont, all three of this year's major golf titles have been claimed by first-time winners. Could that trend continue with a maiden triumph for someone like Rickie Fowler, Lee Westwood or Sergio Garcia?

World number one Jason Day broke his own major drought at the US PGA last year, producing a final-round 67 to finish on a dominant 20-under and beat Jordan Spieth by three strokes. He will be expecting to provide a staunch defence of his title after ending the last three majors 10th, eighth and 22nd, while key rivals Johnson, Spieth and Rory McIlroy will also jostle for supremacy. All five of those top-ranked players have pulled out of next month's Olympics citing concerns over the Zika virus.

Jason Day
Jason Day set a record score of 20-under en route to his first major victory at Whistling Straits last year David Cannon/Getty Images

Tiger Woods will be absent once again and intends to sit out the rest of the season as he continues to gradually build his fitness following three back surgeries. It is the first time in his career that the formerly dominant superstar, who last played at the 2015 Wyndham Championship, has missed all four majors in a row. His chances of surpassing Jack Nicklaus' record are looking increasingly bleak.

Selected round one/two pairings and opening tee times [BST]

Tee number one

17.35: Alex Noren, Andrew Johnston, Scott Piercy

18.25: Sergio Garcia, Jordan Spieth, Bubba Watson

18.35: Patrick Reed, Justin Rose, Charl Schwartzel

18.45: Danny Willett, Dustin Johnson, Henrik Stenson

18.55: Graeme McDowell, Webb Simpson, Louis Oosthuizen

Tee number 10

12.40: Rickie Fowler, Ernie Els, Zach Johnson

13.10: Brooks Koepka, Brandt Snedeker, Lee Westwood

13.20: Adam Scott, Keegan Bradley, Jamie Donaldson

13.30: Jason Day, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy