Louis van Gaal
Louis van Gaal has named 19 players for the trip to Germany Getty

Louis van Gaal will be without seven first-team Manchester United players for the decisive Champions League game against Wolfsburg on Tuesday night (8 December) after Morgan Schneiderlin suffered a hip injury during the 0-0 draw against West Ham United. The France international will miss the trip to Germany, joining captain Wayne Rooney, Marcos Rojo, Ander Herrera, Phil Jones, Luke Shaw and Antonio Valencia in the Old Trafford treatment room.

The Dutch boss has been forced to include marginal names like Guillermo Varela, Nick Powell, Sean Goss and defender Cameron Borthwick-Jackson in his 19-man squad for the clash. The Premier League giants are in charge of their own fate, but they need to beat the current group leaders to be mathematically certain to qualify – as third-place PSV Eindhoven are just a point behind them and face already-eliminated CSKA Moscow

Van Gaal already anticipated the absence of Rooney last week, after the club's underperforming talisman picked up an ankle issue against Leicester City that is believed to be worse than first impressions indicated.

"The injury of Wayne Rooney is more heavy than we thought, so neither can play. That's it I think," the boss told MUTV. "It's a nasty injury. When we go on it's been getting worse."

And United have now confirmed that Rooney will be joined by Schneiderlin after the midfielder sustained a problem in his hip against West Ham, being replaced by Michael Carrick in the 44<sup>th minute.

Paddy McNair, meanwhile, has been included in the squad despite being replaced by youngster Varela during the game against West Ham due to a ankle issue. Powell is also in the mix for the first time since recovering from a long-term hamstring injury.

Manchester United squad: David De Gea, Sergio Romero; Paddy McNair, Chris Smalling, Guillermo Varela, Cameron Borthwick-Jackson, Daley Blind, Matteo Darmian; Bastian Schweinsteiger, Michael Carrick, Sean Goss, Nick Powell, Ashley Young, Jesse Lingard, Andreas Pereira, Juan Mata; Memphis Depay, Marouane Fellaini, Anthony Martial.