Lionel Messi
Messi is eying a fifth Ballon d'Or.

Four-time Fifa Ballon d'Or winner Lionel Messi is the odds-on favourite to claim a record fifth world player of the year award after the 23-man longlist for the prestigious prize was announced by football's world governing body.

The Barcelona forward has previously won the 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 awards and is expected to claim the prize for an unprecedented fifth time despite being up against Franck Ribery who was crowned Uefa's best player in Europein August after winning the treble with Bayern Munich.

Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo, who has scored 46 goals in 2013 for club and country, Paris Saint Germain forward Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Gareth Bale, the world's most expensive player, are the other leading contenders.

Premier League representation is led by last season's top scorer Robin van Persie, the Manchester United striker, and Liverpool forward Luis Suarez, who is the highest scoring player in the top flight in 2013.

Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure, Arsenal's Mesut Ozil and Chelsea winger Eden Hazard, who helped his club to the Europa League trophy last season, are the other Premier League players on the list which doesn't include a single English player.

The omission of any English nominee, for the first time since 2010, comes amid concern over the future of the national game with Football Association chairman Greg Dyke having set up a commission to discuss the state of the sport.

The 10-man shortlist for coach of the year is headed by former United manager Sir Alex Ferguson, who won the league title in his final season in charge, and ex-Bayern boss Jupp Heynckes who bowed out of management by winning the treble.

Other nominees include Borussia Dortmund boss Jurgen Klopp, Brazil coach Luiz Felipe Scolari and Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger.

FIFA Ballon d'Or 2013 longlist:

Gareth Bale (Wales/Tottenham Hotspur/Real Madrid), Edinson Cavani (Uruguay/Napoli/Paris Saint Germain), Radamel Falcao (Colombia/Atletico Madrid/Monaco), Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden/AC Milan/Paris Saint Germain), Andrés Iniesta (Spain/Barcelona), Philipp Lahm (Germany/Bayern Munich), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/Borussia Dortmund), Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barcelona), Thomas Müller (Germany/Bayern Munich), Manuel Neuer (Germany/Bayer Munich), Neymar (Brazil/Santos/Barcelona), Mesut Özil (Germany/Real Madrid/Arsenal), Andrea Pirlo (Italy/Juventus), Franck Ribéry (France/Bayern Munich), Arjen Robben (Netherlands/Bayern Munich), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany/Bayern Munich), Luis Suárez (Uruguay/Liverpool), Thiago Silva (Brazil/Paris Saint Germain), Yaya Touré (Ivory Coast/Manchester City), Robin Van Persie (Netherlands/Manchester United), Xavi (Spain/Barcelona).

FIFA World Coach of the Year 2013:

Carlo Ancelotti (Paris Saint-Germain/Real Madrid), Rafael Benítez (Chelsea/Napoli), Antonio Conte (Juventus), Vicente Del Bosque (Spain), Sir Alex Ferguson (Manchester United), Jupp Heynckes (Bayern Munich), Jürgen Klopp (Borussia Dortmund), José Mourinho (Real Madrid/Chelsea), Luiz Felipe Scolari (Brazil), Arsène Wenger (Arsenal).