Follow live coverage of England v Sri Lanka here

Angelo Mathews
Angelo Mathews

England take on Sri Lanka in the Super 10 round of the 2014 T20 World Cup at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong, on Thursday.

Where to Watch Live

The match starts at 1:30pm GMT. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD. Live text updates of the game will be available on ESPN Cricinfo. Click here for live streaming link.


England lost their first T20 World Cup match to New Zealand by nine runs in Duckworth–Lewis method.

Brendon McCullum won the toss and put the English side to bat first. England managed to make 172 for the loss of six wickets in 20 overs. Moeen Ali was the top scorer with 36 runs, while Michael Lumb (33) and wicket-keeping batsman Jos Butler (32) contributed significantly.

Batting second, New Zealand had a good start to their innings as Kane Williamson and McCullum helped the Kiwis reach 52 runs in just 5.2 overs.

The umpires halted the match due to bad weather after the completion of the fifth over, but England skipper Stuart Broad was disappointed with the match officials for taking the game that far in adverse weather conditions.

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka come into this game after registering a crushing victory over minnows Netherlands in their second game of Super 10 fixture. Peter Borren's side were bowled out for 39 runs in just 10.3 overs.

Dinesh Chandimal's side chased the score in just 5.4 overs, winning the game by nine wickets. With the victory over the Netherlands Sri Lank took the top spot in Group 1 with four points from two games, while England are fourth place and are yet to open their account.

A victory for Sri Lanka will confirm their place in the last four of the competition, while for England, a defeat could end their chances of progressing to the Knockouts of T20 World Cup this year.

Team News


Probable Lineup: Michael Lumb, Alex Hales, Moeen Ali, Eoin Morgan, Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler (wk), Tim Bresnan, Chris Jordan, Stuart Broad (c), James Tredwell, Jade Dernbach

Sri Lanka

Probable Lineup: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Dinesh Chandimal (c), Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Sachithra Senanayake, Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis