Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli has been in fine form in the 2016 Asia Cup T20 Getty

India take on United Arab Emirates in the ninth match of the 2016 Asia Cup T20 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium on Thursday, 3 March.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 1.30pm GMT. There is no live coverage of the match in the UK. In India, Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 3 will telecast the match live.


In a match that will have no consequence on the points table, India take on the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in the ninth game of the 2016 Asia Cup T20 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on 3 March.

India come into the game having already qualified for the final, after their comprehensive five-wicket win over Sri Lanka on 1 March. Virat Kohli continued his fine form, scoring a 47-ball 56, helping the Men in Blue cruise to victory.

The bowlers, as they have throughout the tournament, performed intelligently, focusing on line and length and not giving the batsman space to free their arms. In Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra and Hardik Pandya, skipper M S Dhoni has an attack that could well be the first choice for the 2016 ICC World T20 tournament starting next week. The skipper indicated that with India in the final, they will look to experiment with their side.

Playing for pride, the United Arab Emirates will look to cause a shock and register their first win of the 2016 Asia Cup T20. To be fair to the UAE, they have not played that badly. It's just that the other teams have been much better. Their batting has failed to click while their bowlers have tried hard but haven't been able to trouble the opposition batsman. Skipper Amjad Javed and Mohammad

Naveed have been the standout players, and the team management will look to build on this exposure and perform better in future tournaments.


India to win

Betting odds (888sport)

  • India to win: 1/25
  • United Arab Emirates to win:10

Team news


Possible XI: MS Dhoni (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya, Bhuveneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah.

United Arab Emirates

Possible XI: Muhammad Kaleem, Rohan Mustafa, Shaiman Anwar, Mohammad Shahzad, Mohammad Usman, Amjad Javed (C), Saqlain Haider, Swapnil Patel (WK), Qadeer Ahmed, Ahmed Raza, Mohammad Naveed.