Yesterday all eyes were on the Badminton World Federation after eight players were accused of throwing a match in order to try and gain a favourable draw. Today it is the athletes turn to question the question the performance of the officials.

Iranian boxer Ali Mazaheri was dumbfounded when he was disqualified in his heavyweight contest against Cuban Jose Larduet Gomez for repeating holding his opponent.

Mazaheri was leading by two points going into the second round when the referee warned him for a third time and he subsequently left the ring in disgust before the referee could announce the official decision.

Ali Mazaheri
Ali Mazaheri was shocked at the decision to disqualify him. [Reuters]

"It was a fix. I could have got a bronze easily if it hadn't been for that," revealed an angry Mazhari to Reuters. "In my previous fights I had done really well. It was a set up."

There was an immediate response from the International Amateur Boxing Association who claimed that there official was only following the rules.

"The Iranian boxer received three warnings during his bout," read a statement from the IABA. "According to Rule 12.2.1 of the AIBA Technical & Competition Rules, 'only three warnings may be given to the same boxer in one contest. The third warning brings automatic disqualification'."

This was not the only decision to come under scrutiny after bantamweight Satoshi Shimizu of Japan was ruled to have lost his bout with Azerbaijan fighter Magomed Abdulhamidov despite knocking him down on six occasions in the final round.

Shimizu was trailing by seven points going into the last round, yet somehow, the judges managed to score the third round even at 10-10 and Abdulhamidov was awarded the contest.

"I was shocked about the result. He fell down so many times," said the Japanese fighter. "Why didn't I win? I don't understand.

"This is the second Olympics I have attended and even in Beijing I wasn't happy about the judgement, so I don't know what to do about that. I am really not happy about that."

The 25-year-olds team decided to appeal the result and fortunately it was overturned after the IABA declared that the referee should have given Abdulhamidov at least three standing counts which would have meant that the contest would be stopped.

Former world heavyweight champion Lennox Lewis, who is commentating on the boxing, was another to admit his concerns about the judging.

"What I'm concerned about is probably the judging. You never know who is going to win until the end of the fight," said Lewis.