Raheem Sterling
Sterling one of the favourites for this year's award. Getty

Liverpool's Raheem Sterling, Manchester United forward Adnan Januzaj, and Arsenal defender Calum Chambers are among those nominated for this year's prestigious Golden Boy award.

The award, originally established by Italian newspaper Tuttosport, considers Europe's best young players under the age of 21 and is voted for by journalists across the continent.

The Premier League has strong representation on the 40-strong list with 10 players vying for the prize. Sterling is joined by his Liverpool teammates Lazar Markovic and Divock Origi (currently on loan at Lille) while Luke Shaw joins Januzaj from the United contingent.

Chelsea's Kurt Zouma, Everton's England international John Stones, and Tottenham Hotspur starlet Eric Dier are amongst the defenders up for consideration along with Chambers. Spurs midfielder Nabil Bentaleb completes the Premier League line-up.

Champions League holders Real Madrid have seen none of their prospects gain recognition on the list but Barcelona trio Sandro Ramirez, Munir El Haddai, and Gerar Deulofeu (on loan at Sevilla) do feature.

Juventus star Paul Pogba currently holds the award after finishing ahead of Everton's Romelu Lukaku last year. Sterling, who has been almost ever-present in Brendan Rodgers' side in 2014 is considered one of the favourites to lift the prize. Wayne Rooney remains the only Englishman to have scooped the award back in 2004.

Januzaj, 19, celebrated winning a similar accolade earlier this year. The Belgian international was named by respected Italian daily Gazzetta Dello Sport as the best teenager in European football in March.

Golden Boy Shortlist:

Calum Chambers (Arsenal), Kurt Zouma (Chelsea), John Stones (Everton), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Lazar Markovic (Liverpool), Divock Origi (Lille, on loan from Liverpool), Adnan Januzaj, Luke Shaw (Manchester United), Nabil Bentaleb (Tottenham), Eric Dier (Tottenham)

Gerard Deulofeu (Sevilla, on loan from Barcelona), Aymeric Laporte (Athletic Bilbao), Sandro Ramirez (Barcelona), Munir El Haddai (Barcelona), Saúl Ñíguez (Atlético Madrid)

Domenico Berardi (Sassuolo, on loan from Juventus), Bernardeschi Franco (Fiorentina), Kingsley Coman (Juventus), Keita Baldé Diao (Lazio), Mateo Kovacic (Inter)

Hakan Calhanoglu (Bayer Leverkusen), Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg (Bayern Munich), Gianluca Gaudino (Bayern Munich), Matthias Ginter (Borussia Dortmund), Julian Green (Hamburg, on loan from Bayern Munich), Maximilian Meyer (Schalke), Marquinhos (Paris Saint Germain), Adrien Rabiot (Paris Saint-Germain), Benjamin Mendy (Marseille), Lucas Ocampos (Monaco).

Tonny Vilhena (Feyenoord), Jetro Willems (PSV), Arkadiusz Milik (Ajax, on loan from Bayer Leverkusen), Dennis Praet (Anderlecht), Alexander Mitrovic (Anderlecht), Oliver Torres (Porto, on loan from Atletico Madrid), Bruma (Galatasaray), Gonzalez (Basel), Nikola Ninkovic (Partizan Belgrade), Luka Zahovic (Maribor)

Past Winners:

2013: Paul Pogba (Juventus).

2012: Isco (Malaga).

2011: Mario Gotze (Borussia Dortmund).

2010: Mario Balotelli (Manchester City).

2009: Alexandre Pato (Milan).

2008: Anderson (Manchester United).

2007: Sergio Aguero (Atletico Madrid).

2006: Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal).

2005: Lionel Messi (Barcelona).

2004: Wayne Rooney (Everton).

2003: Rafael van der Vaart (Ajax).