The women's football event at the Rio 2016 Olympics has reached its final stage as two teams will be fighting for gold and silver, while one of the other two teams will be chasing bronze. Host nation Brazil, Sweden, Canada and Germany have made it to the semi-finals.

Out of these, Brazil lost to Sweden on penalties, while Germany progressed to the final after beating Canada 2-0 in the second semi-final. Sweden and Germany are aware they will at least settle for silver in the women's football event in Rio.

Brazil will have to fight with Canada for the bronze medal as the winner of the clash will clinch it. They will be disappointed not to make it to the final of the event as their men's football team sealed a berth in the last two, assuring them of a chance to grab a silver medal in the event.

Teams qualified for final of women's football event in Rio 2016 Olympics:

  1. Sweden
  2. Germany

Teams qualified for bronze medal of women's football event in Rio 2016 Olympics:

  1. Brazil
  2. Canada

Where to watch live

The football matches of the Rio 2016 Olympics will be telecast live on BBC One, BBC Four and Red Button in the United Kingdom. In addition to this, there will be up to 24 HD video streams to follow the event on desktop, mobile and tabs.


For Bronze medal: Brazil v Canada

Date and Time: 19 August, Friday – 5pm BST/ 1pm local time

Venue: Corinthians Arena

For Gold medal: Sweden v Germany

Date and Time: 19 August, Friday – 9:30pm BST/ 5:30pm local time

Venue: Maracanã