Scotland (0) 0

England (13) 20

Try: Burrell, Brown

Pens: Farrell

Conversions: Farrell 2

Drop goals: Care

England reignited their Six Nations championship hopes with a comfortable win to retain the Calcutta Cup against a wretched Scotland at Murrayfield.

Luther Burrell and Mike Brown both scored their second international tries to overcome a Scotland side who amid the yellow card to Alex Dunbar failed to register a single point throughout the 80 minutes as they fell to a fourth successive defeat.

Scotland coach Scott Johnson will be particularly concerned by the error-strewn nature of his side's display as England bounced back from their late defeat in Paris last weekend but rarely got out of second gear.

Following last weekend's contrasting defeats on the opening weekend, Scotland and England renewed the oldest rivalry in international rugby with both sides looking to prevent their respective Six Nations campaigns from being derailed.

Johnson made three changes from the abject loss to Ireland, the most surprising alteration being the inclusion of debutant Chris Fusaro at the expense of captain Kelly Brown, who was left out of the 23 entirely.

For the first time in 23 matches in charge Stuart Lancaster named an unchanged team after the last gasp loss to France, with Jonny May fit to start despite suffering a facial injury in Paris while Burrell and Jack Nowell were again given the nod.

The inclement Edinburgh weather coupled with the infamous Murrayfield pitch risked a fixture, which had produce just one try when hosted north of the border in the last four meetings, degenerating into a contest for the rugby purists.

By kick-off, the surface – not helped by the pre-match entertainment – was far from fit for international rugby but Scotland began with intent but urgency which produced a string of errors in the early exchanges.

Owen Farrell missed a penalty from right in front of the posts to gift the hosts a reprieve but upon Scotland infringing again, Danny Care made no mistake with a drop goal.

Greg Laidlaw missed the chance to draw Scotland level with a penalty but the errors continued to come from Johnson's side and following a kick to the corner, Care found the onrushing Burrell, who scored his second international try in as many matches after escaping Laidlaw's clutches.

Farrell passed up another opportunity to extend England's lead but converted from yet another penalty moments later to give the visitors a stranglehold on the match as Scotland coupled a lack of creativity with indiscipline at the breakdown.

Scotland deficiency of invention was emphasised by their insistence on kicking away good ball, which helped England cement their healthy lead, an advantage - which could have been extended when Burrell was stopped short of the line – they held until the interval.

Though Scotland made two immediate changes to their front row at the start of the second half they fell foul of referee Jerome Garces at two successive scrums, handing Farrell the chance to put England three scores clear.

But the Saracens fly-half failed again however the sin binning of Dunbar as May looked like going clear halted Scotland's hopes of taking advantage of Farrell's inaccuracy from the floor.

Ambitions of an unlikely comeback were ended mid-way through the second period when Brown neatly exchanged passes with Nowell on the left and sprung away for his second England try to the frustration of Scotland and coach Johnson who must now focus on avoiding the ignominy of the wooden spoon.


Scotland: 15-Stuart Hogg, 14-Tommy Seymour, 13-Alex Dunbar, 12-Matt Scott, 11-Sean Lamont, 10-Duncan Weir, 9-Greig Laidlaw; 1-Ryan Grant, 2-Ross Ford, 3-Moray Low, 4-Tim Swinson, 5-Jim Hamilton, 6-Ryan Wilson, 7-Chris Fusaro, 8- David Denton

Replacements: 16-Scott Lawson, 17-Alasdair Dickinson, 18-Geoff Cross, 19-Jonny Gray, 20-Johnnie Beattie, 21-Chris Cusiter, 22-Duncan Taylor, 23-Max Evans

England: 15-Mike Brown, 14-Jack Nowell, 13-Luther Burrell, 12-Billy Twelvetrees, 11-Jonny May, 10-Owen Farrell, 9-Danny Care;-; 1-Joe Marler. 2-Dylan Hartley, 3-Dan Cole, 4-Joe Launchbury, 5-Courtney Lawes, 6-Tom Wood, 7-Chris Robshaw (captain), 8-Billy Vunipola

Replacements: 16-Tom Youngs, 17-Mako Vunipola, 18-Henry Thomas, 19-Dave Attwood, 20-Ben Morgan, 21-Lee Dickson 22-Brad Barritt, 23-Alex Goode.