Tour de France 2014
Astana team rider Vincenzo Nibali of Italy celebrates his yellow jersey on the podium of the second 201 km stage of the Tour de France cycling race from York to Sheffield Reuters

Stage two of the 2014 Tour de France commenced at York up to Sheffield where Vincenzo Nibali of Italy won the stage and became the new owner of the Yellow jersey 09 :52 :43.

The next stage is a relatively flat route and participants will make the 155-mile (249 km) trip from Cambridge to London on Monday.

Where to Watch Live

The race is set to begin at 12pm BST. Live coverage of the race is on ITV 4. Catch the highlights of the race on ITV 4 at 7pm BST. Click here for the live streaming link.


The second stage of Tour de France, which started in North Yorkshire and ended in South Yorkshire, saw Astana Pro Team rider Vincenzo Nibali not only win the stage but also become the new owner of the Yellow jersey.

His attack in the final 1.8kms saw him win the stage and take a lead of just two seconds over Peter Sagan of Team Cannondale. Nibali is the first Italian to wear the maillot jaune in almost five years.

Meanwhile, it was a disappointment for the British fans as Mark Cavendish was ruled out of the event after failing to recover from the dislocated right collarbone injury he suffered in the opening day crash.

However, British favourite and defending champion Christopher Froome is in fifth place, only two seconds behind the leader.

Stage two saw almost 2.5 million fans turn up to watch the race. Stage three is also the final stage in the UK, after which the riders will cross over the channel to France.

Peter Sagan, who is again eligible to wear the Green jersey being the leader in the points, will continue with the White jersey. Bryan Coquard will continue with the Green jersey despite being classified in 111th place in stage two.

Cyril Lemoine has taken over the Polka Dot jersey from Jens Voigt to become the 'King of the Mountains'

Betting Odds (

Stage 2 Winner

  • Marcel Kittel – 3/5
  • Andre Greipel – 4
  • Peter Sagan – 10
  • Arnaud Demare – 14
  • Bryan Coquard – 22
  • Sacha Modolo - 22
  • Alexander Kristoff - 20
  • Danny Van Poppel - 40
  • Mark Renshaw- 40
  • John Degenkolb - 80