Chris Froome
Chris Froome celebrates after winning the 100th edition of the Tour de France.

The 2014 Tour de France, the 101st edition of the annual multi-stage bicycle race, will kick-start in Leeds, West Yorkshire, on 5 July and conclude in Paris on 27 July.

The marquee event, which is primarily held in France, is returning to England for the first time since 2007. The 2,277-mile (3,664km) race, organised by Amaury Sport Organisation, has as many as 21 stages.

Where to Watch Live

Live coverage of the race will be available on ITV 4 from 10:30am BST. Catch the highlights of the race on ITV 4 at 7pm BST between 5 July and 27 July. Click here for the live streaming link.


Team Sky will represent Britain and will be led by defending champion Chris Froome. The 29-year-old dominated the 2013 Tour de France after winning three stages and finished less than five minutes to spare on his closest rival, Nairo Quintana.

The Kenyan-born British professional road racing cyclist will be hoping to emulate last editions' form to retain his title this year. Froome remains one of the firm contenders to win the Tour de France.

Alberto Contador
Alberto Contador Reuters

Meanwhile, the Team Sky cyclist could face competition from Alberto Contador with Team Tinkoff-Saxo this year. The Spaniard, nicknamed El Pistolero, has already won it in 2007 and 2009. He would be hoping to challenge Froome in the 101<sup>st edition of the competition.

Kazakhstani UCI ProTeam Astana racer Vincenzo Nibali is also in the frame to challenge for the title this year. Nibali, along with Contador and Froome are the top three firm favourites to win the 2014 Tour de France.

Betting Odds (

Over 5.5 riders to wear the Overall Classification at least once- 7/10

Under 5.5 riders to wear the Overall Classification at least once - 51/50

Stage 1 Winner

Mark Cavendish - 9/4

Marcel Kittel - 9/4

Andre Greipel - 5/1

Peter Sagan - 7/1

Alexander Kristoff - 14/1

Arnaud Demare - 16/1

John Degenkolb - 22/1

Sacha Modolo - 30/1

Fabian Cancellara - 50/1

Elia Viviani - 66/1


Alejandro Valverde - 20/1

Andrew Talansky - 33/1

Tejay Van Garderen - 66/1

Johann Tschopp - 300/1

Rohan Dennis - 300/1

Janez Brajkovic - 400/1


Tour de France  2014 Route
Tour de France 2014 Route Reuters

The 2014 Tour de France race goes through Belgium and Spain before finishing in Paris.

The Tour de France will be held over 23 days with two rest days, 15 July and 21 July. The 21 stages will consist of nine flat stages, five hill stages, six mountain stages with five altitude finishes and one individual time trial stage.

Top Five Contenders for Yellow Jersey

  • Chris Froome (Team Sky)
  • Alberto Contador (Team Tinkoff-Saxo)
  • Vincenzo Nibali (UCI ProTeam Astana)
  • Thibaut Pinot ( UCI ProTeam
  • Rui Costa (UCI ProTeam Lampre-Merida)