Australia- India series
Australia host India in the third test at Melbourne REUTERS/Brandon Malone

Australia host India in the third of the four tests scheduled for the series at the Melbourne cricket Ground on Boxing Day.

Where to Watch Live

The play is scheduled to start at 12am GMT on 26 December. Live coverage will be available on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD. Follow the live text commentary of the game on ESPN Cricinfo.


Australia have reignited the fear factor that had throttled teams from across the world for more than a decade by stamping their authority on a talented Indian side, taking a 2-0 lead over the visitors ahead of the World Cup scheduled in the country later next year.

The Aussies have not been at their best thus far, in fact a far cry from the level of performance we are accustomed to at home. Yet, they have been able to get the better of India, who have been anything but clinical in their pursuits.

The Indians have failed to beat the Aussies at Melbourne in over 33 years and will be looking to bring that statistic to a close and give themselves a chance to leave the country with their heads held high. Mahendra Singh Dhoni's arrival in the last test did little to rejuvenate the visitors, who tumbled again in the second innings after the Australians' tail had taken them to a sizeable lead in the first innings.

Virat Kohli failed to deliver in the last test after a magnificent performance in the first test, where he single-handedly gave India a momentous start, but fell short as the Aussies struck back in the last moment to steal a victory from the jaws of defeat.

This is an important test of character for Dhoni's men, who have been maligned for their inability to perform away from home. A win here will pave the path for greater things in the future, a platform the team can build on.

Betting Odds (

  • Australia to win: 4/7
  • India to win: 9/2
  • Draw: 33/10

Team News


Probable Lineup: Chris Rogers, David Warner, Shane Watson, Michael Clarke (capt), Steven Smith, Mitchell Marsh, Brad Haddin (wk), Mitchell Johnson, Ryan Harris, Peter Siddle and Nathan Lyon.


Probable Lineup: M Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (capt), Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Varun Aaron, Ishant Sharma and Mohammad Shami.