David Warner
Australia's David Warner raises his bat after reaching his 100 during the 2015 Cricket World Cup clash against Afghanistan. [Getty]

Click here to follow IBTimes UK's Live Blog between Australia v Sri Lanka

Australia will take on Sri Lanka in a Group A clash of the 2015 ICC World Cup at Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney, on Sunday.

Where to Watch Live

The match starts at 3.30am GMT. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD. Click here for the live streaming link.


The clash between Australia and Sri Lanka will be very crucial for both sides as the winner will be in firm pole position to finish the group table in second spot. A win for the visitors will assure them a second spot.

Sri Lanka are second in the table with six points from four games and Australia are one point behind them in third spot. Michael Clarke's side will be looking to seal a victory over the Lankans, which will help them edge closer towards a second place finish in the group.

In the previous fixture, David Warner's 178 off 133 balls, followed by a good knock of 95 from Steven Smith and Glen Maxwell (88) helped Australia manage a mammoth total of 417 runs.

In reply, Afghanistan were bowled out for 142 runs, resulting in a 275-run victory. Meanwhile, Sri Lanka come into this fixture with a nine-wicket victory over England in the last fixture.

Tillakaratne Dilshan-Kumar Sangakkara
Dilshan and Sangakkara managed a 210-run partnership against Bangladesh. [Getty]

The Three Lions posted a total of 309 runs and unbeaten centuries from Lahiru Thirimanne (139) and Kumar Sangakkara (117) helped the Lankans seal a comfortable win. They will be looking to continue their impressive form with the bat on Sunday.


Australia to win

Betting Odds (888Sport.com)

  • Australia to win: 1/3
  • Sri Lanka to win: 5/2

Team News


Possible XI: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Michael Clarke (C), Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, James Faulkner, Mitchell Marsh, Brad Haddin (WK), Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood

Sri Lanka

Possible XI: Lahiru Thirimanne, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (WK), Dimuth Karunaratne, Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews (C), Thisara Perera, Dushmantha Chameera, Sachithra Senanayake, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal