Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle

Bangladesh kick-start their Super-10 campaign of the 2014 T20 World Cup against West Indies in their Group 2 fixture at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Tuesday.

Where to Watch Live

The match is set to begin at 1:30pm GMT. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD. Live text updates of the game will be available on ESPN Cricinfo. Click Here for Live Streaming Link.


Bangladesh earned their way to the Super-10 round of matches from the Group Stage overcoming associate countries Nepal, Afghanistan and Hong Kong in Group A of the qualifiers.

The hosts won the first two matches against the former two nations by convincingly registering nine and eight wicket victories earlier this month.

However, Mushfiqur Rahim's side were outwitted by minnows Hong Kong in their previous game.

Jamie Atkinson's bowlers tore through the Bangladeshi batting lineup dismissing all of them in under 17 overs as they managed to score 108 runs.

Despite Bangladesh bowlers' attempt to grind out a victory bagging eight wickets, the Hong Kong batsmen held their nerve to knock the winning runs in the final over.

Meanwhile, West Indies began their championship defence on a disappointing note with a defeat against India on Sunday. Darren Sammy's side were put to bat first where they lost seven wickets but could only score 129 runs in 20 overs.

Chris Gayle was not in his usual form but was their highest run scorer making 34 runs from 33 deliveries, before being run out by Mohammad Shami.

The West Indies bowlers failed to prevent India from chasing the target as Rohit Sharma's unbeaten knock of 62, powered India to victory as Samuel Badree, Andre Russell and Samuels snapped up the wickets of Shikhar Dhawan (0), Virat Kohli (54) and Yuvraj Singh (10) respectively.

Bangladesh will be keen to begin with a win against the defending champions, knowing their dream of lifting the trophy for the first time can be better lived in the comforts of the home soil.

Meanwhile, West Indies will be eyeing to put their setback behind them and aim to get back on winning ways to keep their hope alive of retaining the T20 world champions title.

Team News


Probable Lineup: Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Sabbir Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (c & wk), Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak, Ziaur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain

West Indies

Probable Lineup: Dwayne Smith, Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Bravo, Darren Sammy (c), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Samuel Badree, Krishmar Santokie