Bangladesh is a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) with Test and ODI status Getty

Bangladesh will take on Afghanistan in a Group A fixture of the 2015 ICC World Cup at Manuka Oval, Canberra on Wednesday.

Where to watch live

The match starts at 3.30am GMT. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD. Click here for live streaming link.


Bangladesh will kick start this edition of the World Cup with a clash against Afghanistan. After exiting from the group stages during the 2011 World Cup, which was co-hosted by Bangladesh, they will be keen on making it to the next stage in the ongoing tournament.

Their hope of making it to the knockout stages of the 2015 World Cup could be improved with a victory over Afghanistan on Wednesday. It should be seen if Bangladesh can manage to progress to the next round, especially when they have teams like Australia, New Zealand, England and Sri Lanka in the same pool.

Afghanistan captain Mohammad Nabi seen addressing his team during an ODI fixture in 2014 (Getty)

Meanwhile, Afghanistan's task is to go ahead and check if they can seal an upset. Ireland managed to beat West Indies in the earlier fixture and Scotland came close to defeating the Kiwis on Tuesday.

These two fixtures should give them a confidence boost and also help them believe that they can defeat Bangladesh. The best way going for Mohammad Nabi's side is to take one game at a time.

Betting odds (

  • Bangladesh to win: 4/17
  • Afghanistan to win: 31/10

What they say

Mashrafe Mortaza (Bangladesh captain): "We have some very good quicks. Yes, they're still young, but they have the potential and hopefully they'll do their job. I feel that our spinners are world class and can bowl on any wicket."

Team news


Possible XI: Anamul Haque, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (WK) , Sabbir Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain.


Possible XI: Javed Ahmadi, Usman Ghani, Asghar Stanikzai, Najibullah Zadran, Samiullah Shenwari, Mohammad Nabi (C), Afsar Zazai (WK), Mirwais Ashraf , Dawlat Zadran, Hamid Hassan, Shapoor Zadran.