Belgium Grand Prix
Max Verstappen was fastest in the second practice session at Spa Francorchamps ahead of teammate Daniel Ricciardo Getty

The Red Bulls were leading the way at the end of the second practice session after the Mercedes duo refrained from using the super-soft compound in the afternoon session. Max Verstappen led teammate Daniel Ricciardo by two tenths of a second as the Austrian owned team showed they will be ready to challenge Mercedes come qualifying.

Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton used the super-softs — fastest compound available this weekend — during the morning session, but are yet to show their true pace. FP3 will give an indication of the pecking order ahead of qualifying. It will not make a difference, however, for the reigning world champion as he is set to start from the back of the grid after being handed a 30-place grid penalty for exceeding the number of engine components allotted for the season.

The Force India team look strong at Spa Francorchamps once again, and were third and fifth in the second session with Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel splitting them in fourth. Rosberg was in fifth place ahead of the second Ferrari of Kimi Raikkonen.

The Maranello-based team seem to still be behind the Red Bull and Mercedes, and could come under attack from the Vijay Mallya-owned team, who look quick over a single lap.

The weather is expected to remain dry for the entire weekend, and with Hamilton's penalty it will be Rosberg's best chance to claw back the 19-point deficit he has in the Drivers' world championship.

Where to Watch Live

The third free practice session begins on Saturday (27 August) at 10am BST, while the qualifying session starts at 1pm BST. Sky Sports F1 and Sky Sports F1 HD will provide live coverage of both events in the UK.

Real-time internet updates are available on the Live Timing section of the sport's official website.

Top 10 results of the second practice session from Spa Francorchamps:

2DANIEL RICCIARDO1:48.341+0.256s
3NICO HULKENBERG1:48.657+0.572s
4SEBASTIAN VETTEL1:49.023+0.938s
5SERGIO PEREZ1:49.100+1.015s
6NICO ROSBERG1:49.161+1.076s
7KIMI RÄIKKÖNEN1:49.244+1.159s
8ROMAIN GROSJEAN1:49.419+1.334s
9JENSON BUTTON1:49.419+1.334s
10ESTEBAN GUTIERREZ1:49.648+1.563s