Chelsea playmaker Eden Hazard has been named Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers' Association after beating his teammate John Terry and Tottenham sensation Harry Kane in the votes.

The Belgium international had already recently won the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year award voted for by his fellow professionals.

Having joined the Blues for £32m ($50m) in summer 2012, the 24-year-old has become a leading force in Jose Mourinho's side this season, helping the Blues to conquer both the Premier League and League Cup after scoring 19 goals and providing 12 assists in all competitions.

And the Football Writers' Association has now confirmed the Chelsea star succeeds former Liverpool hero Luis Suarez as Footballer of the Year after a comfortable victory over Kane and Terry with some 53% of members' votes.

"Hazard will be honoured with the prestigious FWA accolade, which has been running since 1948, at a gala dinner held at the Landmark London Hotel on 21 May," the Football Writers' Association stated.

"As well as Hazard and Terry, Chelsea midfielder Cesc Fabregas, defender Branislav Ivanovic and Thibaut Courtois also featured in the top 10 of the FWA poll, which represented a turnout of 90%.

"The other players to receive votes were Alexis Sanchez of Arsenal, Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea, Manchester City forward Sergio Aguero and Leicester's Esteban Cambiasso."

Football Writers' Association chairman Andy Dunn, of the Sunday Mirror, congratulated the winner: "The list of truly world class players on the Football Writers' Association roll of honour is a long one and Eden Hazard is a worthy addition.

"A creator, a goalscorer and the hardest of workers, Hazard has been a constant source of threat for the Barclays Premier League champions.

"But it is not just his trickery, his pace, his artistry and his marksmanship that make Hazard such an invaluable component of Jose Mourinho's Chelsea squad, it is his durability.

"Hazard has started all 36 Premier League matches and, considering the particularly close attention he receives from opponents, that is a feat in itself.

"But, of course, it is his electrifying, attacking talent that has made Eden the first Belgian to win the Footballer of the Year award.

"He is a brilliant successor to Luis Suarez and we just hope he stays in the Premier League for a lot longer than Luis did after collecting the trophy."