Chelsea goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois has been nominated for the FIFA FIFPro World XI 2014 award celebrating players' achievements last season.

The Belgium international's performances were one of the main reasons behind Atletico Madrid's success last season, as the keeper who conceded fewer goals in La Liga and central to their run to the Champions League final.

Courtois's impressive campaign caught the eye of Jose Mourinho, who decided to bring him back to Stamford Bridge after three seasons on loan in La Liga.

The keeper's merits have been recognised by the FIFPro, which has included him in the 55-player shortlist, consisting of five goalkeepers, 20 defenders, 15 midfielders and 15 forwards.

"FIFPro, the World Players' Union, and FIFA today announced the five goalkeepers shortlisted for the FIFA FIFPro World XI 2014 (see list below) as part of the final 55-man shortlist to be revealed on 1 December 2014," Fifa said in an official announcement.

All professional footballers on the planet are able to pick their candidates, selecting one goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three forwards.

Courtois is in contention for the prize alongside Real Madrid's Iker Casillas, Barcelona's Claudio Bravo, Juventus' Gianluigi Buffon and last season's winner Bayern Munich's Manuel Neuer.

The German international keeper, who is one of the candidates for the Ballon D'or award alongside Cristiano Ronaldo, looks also the main candidate to the FIFPro award after winning the World Cup.

Fifa's goalkeeper shortlist. The winner will be announced on 1 December:

Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern München)
-- Was last year's FIFA FIFPro World XI goalkeeper

Claudio Bravo (Chile/FC Barcelona)
-- First nomination on the 55-man shortlist.

Thibaut Courtois (Belgium/Chelsea FC)
-- Making his debut on the 55-man shortlist.

Iker Casillas (Spain/Real Madrid CF)
-- Was the World XI goalkeeper for five straight years (2008-2012).

Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Juventus FC)
-- Was World XI goalkeeper in 2006 and 2007 and is the only keeper to appear on all ten World XI shortlists since the introduction of the award in 2005.