Critics' Choice Movie Awards 2013
Critics' Choice Movie Awards 2013: Argo and Silver Linings Playbook win big at the event Reuters

Ben Affleck's Argo bagged the coveted Best Movie and Best Director awards at the 18th annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards at Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, California. The awards, announced by the Broadcast Film Critics Association, come after Affleck was sensationally snubbed on the Oscars nomination list in the same categories earlier in the day.

"I would like to thank the academy," he said, adding: "I'm kidding. This is the one that counts."

Jennifer Lawrence, who scored a big win at the People's Choice Awards, received awards for Best Actress in a Comedy (Silver Linings Playbook), Best Actress in an Action Movie (Hunger Games), and Best Ensemble (Silver Linings Playbook).

The ceremony was hosted by KTLA Los Angeles entertainment reporter Sam Rubin. The BFCA is the largest film critics organisation in the United States and Canada, representing more than 270 television, radio and online critics.

The complete list of winners from the 18th annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards:
Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln

Best Actress: Jessica Chastain, Zero Dark Thirty

Best Adapted Screenplay: Tony Kushner, Lincoln

Best Original Screenplay: Quentin Tarantino, Django Unchained

Best Supporting Actor: Philip Seymour Hoffman, The Master

Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway, Les Misérables

Best Young Actor/Actress: Quvenzhané Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Song: "Skyfall," Skyfall (Adele and Paul Epworth)

Best Original Score: Lincoln

Best Cinematography: Life of Pi

Best Art Direction: Anna Karenina

Best Editing: Zero Dark Thirty

Best Costume Design: Anna Karenina

Best Makeup: Cloud Atlas

Best Visual Effects: Life of Pi

Best Animated Feature: Wreck-It Ralph

Best Action Movie: Skyfall

Best Actor in an Action Movie: Daniel Craig, Skyfall

Best Actor in a Comedy: Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Foreign Language Film: Amour

Best Documentary: Searching for Sugar Man

Louis XIII Genius Award: Judd Apatow