Grunge AOR legends Pearl Jam, Hit 'Em Up rapper Tupac Shakur and goth-electro faves Depeche Mode are all on the ballot for the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Class of 2017. The five acts who receive the most votes will be announced in December of this year, before being inducted into the Hall in April 2017 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York City.

Pop queen Janet Jackson also received a nomination, while others on the shortlist include: disco hero Chaka Khan, karaoke bar staple Journey, Nile Rodgers' funk progenitors Chic, psychedelic Verulamians The Zombies, Diamonds and Dust diva Joan Baez, hardcore punkers Bad Brains and the Electric Light Orchestra.

Although taking place in April, the induction will be broadcast on HBO at a later date. It is the first time Depeche Mode, Tupac, Bad Brains, Pearl Jam, Joan Baez, Jane's Addiction and Journey have appeared on the list.

The ballot also welcomes back Joe Tex, who are listed for the fifth time. Kraftwerk and the J Geils Band receive their fourth nomination and prog rockers Yes their third.

For the first time, the RRHOF will induct individual members of each band which means that while Pearl Jam have had five drummers, only founding member Dave Krusen and Matt Cameron will be inducted.

To be eligible for the 2017 ballot, the nominees' debut single and album should have been released before 1991. For the fifth consecutive year, the public are allowed to vote alongside 800 musicians and historians. Voting is open via the Rolling Stone website until 6 December.

It is the first year Tupac Shakur has been eligible for a Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame nomination Getty

Rock & Rock Hall Of Fame 2017 full nominations list

Chaka Khan

Bad Brains

Tupac Shakur


Depeche Mode


Electric Light Orchestra

Janet Jackson

J. Geils Band

Jane's Addiction

Joan Baez

Joe Tex



Pearl Jam


The Cars

The Zombies