The five main political party leaders are preparing for the latest live TV debate without Prime Minister David Cameron.

Ed Miliband, Nicola Sturgeon, Leanne Wood, Nigel Farage and Natalie Bennett will take part in the live discussion broadcast on BBC1 ahead of the general election on 7 May.

The opposition leaders drew lots to decide on where they will be standing and who will speak first. Labour leader Miliband is due to stand on the far left, followed by Plaid Cymru's Wood, Green Party's Bennett, SNP's Nicola Sturgeon and finally Farage of Ukip.

Liberal Democrat leader Nick Clegg is also not taking part as deputy prime minister in the coalition government.

The leaders will make a short speech to viewers at the start of the programme before being given a minute to answer questions from the audience. A 10-minute open debate will then follow.

Labour has accused Cameron of "ducking" out of the chance to explain his party's manifesto in the debate after he agreed to only take part full leader's debate.

Miliband is also predicted to use the debate to confront Sturgeon after recent polls suggest labour could lose most of its seats in Scotland to the SNP.

The election debate will be broadcast live on BBC1 from 8pm to 9.30pm.