Alastair Cook is among three England players named in the ICC Test team of the year, the sport's governing body have confirmed. Bowler Stuart Broad and batsman Joe Root, both of whom were key in regaining the Ashes from Australia, are also included alongside the skipper of the 11.

Cook has scored 1357 Test runs in 2015 - the most of any player in international cricket - while Root, who is second to the opener in the calendar year - top, if one-day and T20 runs are included - is the number one batsman in the format.

The remainder of the batsman selected make up the top six on the list with Australia duo Steven Smith and David Warner, New Zealand's Kane Williamson and Younis Khan of Pakistan also involved.

The four-man bowling attack includes three of the top six wicket-takers of the year including Broad – who took 8 for 15 against Australia in the Ashes – Pakistan spinner Yasir Shah and Josh Hazelwood of Australia. New Zealand seamer Trent Boult completes the team alongside Pakistan wicket-keeper Sarfraz Ahmed, but the top wicket-taker from 2015 Ravichandran Ashwin is only the 12<sup>th man.

The ICC have also confirm the one-day team of the year, which despite a harrowing World Cup for England includes Root, who was overlooked as a nominee for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award - as 12<sup>th man. The team is largely made up of players who starred in the tournament in Australia and New Zealand with AB de Villiers, Mohammed Shami, Mitchell Starc and Imran Tahir all selected. Kiwi Williamson was omitted despite scoring the most ODI runs of any batsman over the year. Mustafizur Rahman meanwhile becomes the first player from Bangladesh to be included in either team.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2015: David Warner (Australia), Alastair Cook (England) (captain), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Younis Khan (Pakistan), Steven Smith (Australia), Joe Root (England), Sarfraz Ahmed (Pakistan), Stuart Broad (England), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Yasir Shah (Pakistan), Josh Hazlewood (Australia), 12th: Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2015: Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Hashim Amla (South Africa), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), AB de Villiers (South Africa) (captain), Steven Smith (Australia), Ross Taylor (New Zealand), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Mohammed Shami (India), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Imran Tahir (South Africa), 12th: Joe Root (England)