England Cricket Team
Steven Finn celebrates a dismissal Reuters

England take on India in the 1st ODI of the five-match series, between August 25 and September 5.

Where to Watch Live

All the ODI matches begin at 10.30am BST. Live coverage of the entire series is available on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD. Live text updates of the game will be available on ESPN Cricinfo. Click here for the live streaming link.


England come into the ODI series in a buoyant mood following their destruction of India in the five-match test series, which they won 3-1. India drew first blood by winning the second test at Lord's, but completely fizzled out after that. The visitors were outplayed in every aspect of the game in the remaining three games.

However, England do have a poor record against India when it comes to ODI's. They have lost four of the previous five meetings between them. But England will want to reverse that during this series by taking advantage of a crest fallen Indian team.

The English team arrives with some in-form players from the test series in Joe Root, Gary Balance and James Anderson. Even spinner Moeen Ali will be keen to continue his good form against the Indian batsmen.

One notable absentee from the England camp will be Stuart Broad, who will be resting as he is scheduled to undergo a knee surgery.

Indian Cricket Team
Indian players celebrate a dismissal Reuters

Meanwhile, India will look to salvage some pride after the humiliation they suffered in the test series. The Indian batsmen will have to put their hands up and take most of the blame for their failures. Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan will hold the key to India's fortunes in the ODI series and they will have to step up and make up for their lack of runs in the tests.

India will be missing Ishant Sharma, who is not part of the ODI squad, but will have the services of Umesh Yadav, who will join Mohammed Shami and Bhuvneshwar Kumar to form the bowling attack for India. The latter among the three was India's best player during the tests.

Despite the criticism taken by India skipper MS Dhoni after losing the test series, he is capable of turning things around and his experience and resilience will be key if India stand any chance of staging a fight back to regain some of their lost pride.

Fixture List

First ODI: 25 August in Bristol

Second ODI: 27 August in Cardiff

Third ODI: 30 August in Nottingham

Fourth ODI: 2 September in Birmingham

Fifth ODI: 5 September in Leeds

Betting Odds (888Sport.com)

Series Winners

England – 3/5

India – 23/17

First One-Day International

England to win – 4/6

India to win – 6/5

Last Five Head-To-Head Results

2013 Champs Trophy: India won by five wickets in Birmingham

2013 Fifth ODI: England won by seven wickets in Dharamsala

2013 Fourth ODI: India won by five wickets in Mohali

2013 Third ODI: India won by seven wickets in Ranchi

2013 Second ODI: India won by 127 runs in Kochi


England: Alastair Cook (capt), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Eoin Morgan, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, James Tredwell, Chris Woakes

India: MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Ravi Ashwin, Stuart Binny, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravi Jadeja, Dhawal Kulkarni, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ambhati Rayudu, Sanju Samson, Karm Sharma, Mohit Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Umesh Yadav