India host New Zealand in the first One Day International (ODI) at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamasala on 16 October.

Where to watch live

The match starts at 9am BST. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 5 and Sky Sports 5 HD in the UK. Click here for the live streaming link.


India come into the five-match One Day International (ODI) series on a high, thrashing the visitors 3-0 in the Tests to inflict a series whitewash and also becoming the number one ranked Test side in the world in the process.

The focus of the team will now turn towards the limited overs format where India have struggled off late, losing nine out of the last 19 ODIs played including three of their last five series.

Despite these losses, the Men In Blue currently find themselves fourth in the ICC rankings and will know that they will need to step up and perform if they are to move up the rankings. In Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane and skipper MS Dhoni the hosts have a strong batting line-up, but it is in the bowling that they look weak.

The team management have opted to rest key bowlers R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammad Shami for the first three ODIs which means Dhawal Kulkarni, Hardik Pandya and Jayant Yadav get an opportunity to impress the selectors.

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni will be back in action for India in the ODI series against New Zealand Getty

The visitors New Zealand had a disastrous Test series, getting whitewashed 3-0 in what was a very disappointing time for the Kiwis. However, they will be buoyed by the fact that they are moving to a discipline where they have been consistent over a period of time and are currently lodged in third place in the ICC rankings.

Like the hosts, the visitors too boast some big names with the bat with skipper Kane Williamson, Martin Guptill and Ross Taylor key players but it is in the bowling where they have an upper hand with seamers Trent Boult and Tim Southee capable of destroying batting attacks on their day.

The Kiwis will be welcoming seamer Tim Southee and all-rounder Corey Anderson who missed the Test series due to injury, however Anderson will only play as a batsman in the current series.


New Zealand to win

Betting Odds (ladbrokes)

  • India to win: 4/9
  • New Zealand to win: 7/4

Team News


Squad: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Dhawal Kulkarni, Umesh Yadav, Mandeep Singh, Kedhar Jadhav

New Zealand

Squad: Kane Williamson (c), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Anton Devcich, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi (wk), Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, BJ Watling (wk).