ipl 2016
The 2016 edition of the Indian Premier League starts on 9 April Getty

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has witnessed a number of exciting matches and records tumbling since its inception in 2008. We at IBTimes UK look at the IPL in numbers.

Most number of IPL titles won: Chennai Super Kings (2010 and 2011), Kolkata Knight Riders (2012 and 2014) and Mumbai Indians (2013 and 2015)

Highest run-scorer in the IPL: Suresh Raina (3,699 runs in 132 games)

Highest wicket-taker: Lasith Malinga (143 wickets in 98 games)

Highest team total: 263/5 by Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune Warriors in 2013

Highest score made by a batsman: Chris Gayle scored 175 not out against Pune Warriors in 2013

Best bowling figures: Sohail Tanvir (six for 14 for Rajasthan Royals against Chennai Super Kings in 2008)

Fastest 50: Yusuf Pathan (scored 50 in 15 balls during his knock of 72 in 22 balls for Kolkata Knight Riders against Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2014)

Fastest 100: Chris Gayle (scored 100 in 30 balls during his knock of 175 not out against Pune Warriors in 2013)

Most number of 5 wicket hauls: James Faulkner picked up five wickets twice

Highest number of sixes: Chris Gayle (230 in 81 innings)

Highest number of fours: Gautam Gambhir (368 in 116 innings)

Best strike rate: Andre Russell (177.88, scoring 386 runs in 217 balls)

Most number of sixes conceded by a bowler: Amit Mishra (118 in 98 games)

Most number of fours conceded by a bowler: Irfan Pathan (286 in 98 games)

Most matches played: Suresh Raina has played 132 matches so far

Most matches played as captain: MS Dhoni has captained his side in 129 games so far

Most catches in IPL: Suresh Raina (75 catches in 132 matches)

Most ducks scored in IPL: Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh and Gautam Gambhir have been out for a duck 11 times so far

Highest partnership: Virat Kohli and AB De Villiers put on an unbeaten 215 runs for the second wicket for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Mumbai Indians in 2015