Honda rider Marc Marquez kept his hopes of a fifth straight win alive at the Grand Prix of the Americas after taking his fifth straight pole position. The defending champion will start Sunday's (23 April) race at the Circuit of the Americas from the front.

Where to watch live

Live coverage of the final race of the Grand Prix starts at 7:45pm BST on BT Sport 2 and BT Sport 2 HD. Real-time internet updates are available on MotoGP's official website. Live streaming is available on and mobile users can stream it live via BT Sport's official app.

Qualifying review

The current world champion edged Movistar Yamaha's Maverick Vinales by a mere 0.13 of a second in an exciting final-lap duel between the two Spanish riders vying for a shot at the Championship.

Valentino Rossi rounds up the front three despite a clash with his Yamaha teammate, while Marquez's teammate from Honda, Dani Pedrosa, will start fourth. Frenchman Johann Zarco of team Monster Yamaha Tech 3 has been a revelation in his first season in MotoGP and will start fifth in the trail.

Marquez will be looking for his 30th career victory after a disappointing start to the campaign, losing both in Argentina and Qatar to Vinales, who currently holds the top spot in the rankings. A loss here for Marquez will make it very difficult for him to reclaim his crown.

The Spaniard is currently at the eighth place in the rankings after a disappointing run of results. He was in the driver's seat in Argentina only to crash out of the competition with an uncharacteristic mistake. This allowed Vinales to emerge victorious, giving him a major shot in the arm as he looks to win the Championship.

Top 10 qualifying times from the Circuit of the Americas:

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 2m 2.741s
2. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 2m 2.871s +0.130s
3. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 2m 3.673s +0.932s
4. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 2m 3.866s +1.125s
5. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)* 2m 3.928s +1.187s
6. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 2m 4.151s +1.410s
7. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 2m 4.431s +1.690s
8. Jonas Folger GER Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)* 2m 4.623s +1.882s
9. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 2m 4.661s +1.920s
10. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP16) 2m 4.673s +1.932s
11. Andrea Iannone ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 2m 5.741s +3.000s
12. Jack Miller AUS Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 2m 5.970s +3.229s