Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party leader Narendra Modi will be sworn in as India's 15th prime Minister on 26 May.

The swearing-in ceremony, which will be presided over by President Pranab Mukherjee, will take place at Rashtrapati Bhavan, or the presidential palace, in New Delhi, at 6pm IST (1.30pm BST).

Along with the new prime minister, the new ministers will also take oath of office.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won a historic majority in the 2014 Indian general election, and Modi, under whom the party fought the elections, has promised a leaner cabinet of ministers.

"Tomorrow, will begin the day by visiting Raj Ghat & paying my respects to Pujya Bapu [Gandhi]. Overwhelmed by greetings from friends across India & the world. I am deeply grateful for your continuous support & best wishes," 63-year-old Modi wrote on Facebook ahead of the swearing-in ceremony.

Guest list

The oath-taking ceremony of Modi will be attended by the heads of state of neighbouring countries, including Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Nepal, as well as by the leaders from other SAARC countries.

"Great having leaders from SAARC nations & Mauritius join us during the ceremony. Their presence will make the occasion more memorable," Modi said.

He also appreciated the decision of Pakistan and Sri Lanka to release Indian fishermen held in those countries.

"I welcome the step by Sri Lanka & Pakistan to release our fishermen. I welcome our fishermen brothers back home!"

The event will also see a host of celebrity guests that include veteran actors Amitabh Bachchan, Rajnikanth and Anupam Kher, among others.

Narendra Modi swearing-in: Live stream

In India, Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony will be telecast live from Rashtrapati Bhavan on public broadcaster Doordarshan's prime channel DD National (DD1), from 5.30pm onwards.

The event will also be telecast on the rest of the channels of Doordarshan, including DD India, DD News and DD-Bharti.

For the rest of the world, live streaming of the event will be available on the official YouTube channel of DD National. Click here to watch.

Watch Online

For Live feed of Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony online, follow the official Facebook page of Narendra Modi.

The official Facebook page of DD1 can be followed for important updates online. Click here to follow.

Live webcast of the ceremony can also be watched online from 5.30pm onwards on the National Informatics Centre's government video portal here.

For any other updates online, follow the official government website as well as its Facebook page.