MPs have voted overwhelmingly to back Theresa May's calls to hold a general election on 8 June by 522 to 13.

The 509 majority is well above the two-thirds backing from MPs needed for the motion that there should be an early general election to pass in the House of Commons.

The decision means Britain will once again head to the polls on 8 June for the second general election in two years.

The motion passed as expected, with only 13 MPs – nine Labour, one SDLP and three independents – voting against the election.

A total of 174 Labour MPs voted in favour of holding an election, meaning dozens appear to have chosen to abstain from voting.

Virtually all of 330 current Tory MPs voted for an election in less than seven weeks, not surprising given the party is currently enjoying a massive lead over Labour in the polls.

Labour veteran Dennis Skinner, one of those who voted against holding an election, told MPs earlier in the House of Commons that May should ban all Tory MPs involved in the alleged election expenses investigation from the 2015 election from the upcoming election.

The 85-year-old asked: "Will the Prime Minster give a guarantee that no Tory MP – who is under investigation by the police and the legal authorities over election expenses in the last General Election – be a candidate in this election?"

"If [May] won't accept that, this is the most squalid election campaign that has happened in my lifetime."

In response, the PM said: "I stand by all the Conservative MPs who are in this House and who will be out there, standing again, campaigning for a Conservative government that will give a brighter and better future for this country."

Full list of 13 MPs who voted against holding a general election:


Ronnie Campbell

Ann Clwyd

Paul Farrelly

Jim Fitzpatrick

Clive Lewis

Fiona Mactaggart

Liz McInnes

Dennis Skinner

Graham Stringer


Alasdair McDonnell


Lady Hermon

Natalie McGarry

Michelle Thomson