AB de Villiers
AB de Villiers is one of the most destructive bastmen in the world in the shorter format of the game Getty

Trinbago Knight Riders take on Barbadoz Tridents in the third match of the 2016 Caribbean Premier League (CPL) at Queens Park Oval, Trinidad on 1 July.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 2am BST. Live coverage of the game is available on BT Sport and Dave TV in the UK. The CPL T20 app will provide live streaming of every match, which is only available on Android phones. Click here to download the app.


Defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders come into this clash after suffering a six-wicket loss to Barbados Tridents in the opening game of the 2016 Caribbean Premier League on 29 June.

Despite boasting a stellar line-up, the Knight Riders failed to fire collectively as a team. But they did put up a fight in the first game, thanks to Darren Bravo who scored an unbeaten 63 runs of 44 balls. He was well aided by Sunil Narine as the spinner took two wickets giving away just 25 runs in his four overs.

Skipper Dwayne Bravo will be hoping that big guns Brendon McCullum, Hashim Amla and Colin Munro fire, because if they do, the opposition team will be under a lot of pressure.

The runners-up of the last edition, Barbados Tridents have AB de Villiers – arguably the best T20 player in the world – in their ranks along with Kieron Pollard and Shoaib Malik who are capable of winning games on their own.

Ravi Rampaul, David Wiese and Wayne Parnell will play a key role in the bowling department while Robin Peterson and Malik will be expected to shoulder the burden in the spin department.


Trinbago Knight Riders to win

Betting odds (betfair)

  • Trinbago Knight Riders to win: 8/11
  • Barbados Tridents to win: 21/20

Team news

Trinbago Knight Riders

Squad: Hashim Amla, Ronsford Beaton, Suliemann Benn, Dwayne Bravo (C), Darren Bravo, Yannic Cariah, Kevon Cooper, Anton Devcich, Hamza Tariq, Brendon McCullum, Nikita Miller, Colin Munro, Sunil Narine, William Perkins, Anderson Philip, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Javon Searles, Umar Akmal (WK).

Barbados Tridents

Squad: Kieron Pollard (C), Kyle Corbin, AB de Villiers, Jason Holder, Kyle Hope, Akeal Hosein, Imran Khan, Ashley Nurse, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Nicholas Pooran (WK), Ravi Rampaul, Raymon Reifer, Shoaib Malik, Shamar Springer, Navin Stewart, Steven Taylor, David Wiese