Graeme Smith
Graeme Smith is one of the star attractions of the MCL Getty

Virgo Super Kings will take on Sagittarius Strikers in the third fixture of the Masters Champions League (MCL) at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on 29 January, Friday.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 3:30pm GMT. UK residents can live stream the first match between the Virgo Super Kings and Sagittarius Strikers from the Masters Champions League on Sky Sports' digital platforms.


Retired player Alviro Petersen has not received an NOC from South African cricket board and hence will not be a part of the ongoing MCL, as he is a part of South African franchise Highveld Lions. He will be missed by the Strikers in the inaugural edition of the MCL.

The opening match between Libra Legends and Gemini Arabians was an entertaining clash, as the latter won it comfortably by 78 runs. There are two matches scheduled on Friday and the clash between Virgo Super Kings and Sagittarius Strikers is the second one of the day — the first one is between Capricorn Commanders and Leo Lions.

Mahela Jayawardena
Sri Lankan legend Mahela Jayawardena is the Strikers' star player in the MCL Getty

The Super Kings have an impressive bowling line -up, which includes the likes of Brett Lee and Dirk Nannes. The batting division has the likes of a South African trio of Graeme Smith, Neil McKenzie and Jonty Rhodes.

Sagittarius Strikes will rely on Adam Gilchrist and Mahela Jayawardene to post a big total. At the other end, they have a strong bowling attack, which includes the likes of Daniel Vettori, Shane Bond and Mushtaq Ahmed, a mixture of pace and spin.


Sagittarius Strikers to win.

Betting odds (bet365)

  • Virgo Super Kings to win: 11/10
  • Sagittarius Strikers to win: 8/11

Team news

Virgo Super Kings

Squad: Owais Shah, James Foster, Gareth Batty, Brett Lee, Dirk Nannes, Graeme Smith, Neil McKenzie, Jonty Rhodes, Mohammad Yousuf, Azhar Mahmood, Hasan Raza, Humayun Farhat, Jacob Oram, Murali Kartik, Malinga Bandara, John Mooney

Sagittarius Strikers

Squad: Jonathan Trott, Michael Carberry, Phil Mustard, Adam Gilchrist, Nathan Hauritz, Mahela Jayawardene, Daniel Vettori, Shane Bond, Mushtaq Ahmed, Yasir Hameed, Tino Best, Krishmar Santokie, Alviro Petersen, Gavin Hamilton. Khurram Khan