Labour leadership candidates Jeremy Corbyn and Owen Smith are back at it again on Thursday evening (8 September 2016) as they face off on the BBC's flagship political debate show, Question Time.

The pair will go head-to-head before the winner of the latest Labour leadership contest is announced in just over two weeks (24 September).

The campaign has heated up over the last week, with Smith accusing Corbyn of being the "disunity candidate" and the Labour leader's team firing back.

"Smith's latest helping of 'Project Fear' only recycles allegations he knows to be false or misleading, but it won't wash with Labour members and supporters who want open, honest politics," a 'Jeremy for Labour' spokesman said on Thursday morning.

Corbyn faced a string of resignations from his shadow cabinet, and 172 Labour MP backed a motion of 'no confidence' against him.

He was also criticised after he nominated Shami Chakrabarti for a peerage. The human-rights activist chaired an 'independent' inquiry into anti-Semitism inside Labour. But despite the controversy and setbacks, Corbyn, who attracted almost 60% of the vote last year, is still expected to win retain his leadership.

A YouGov poll for The Times, of more 1,000 Labour members between 25 and 29 August, put him 24 points ahead of Smith (62% versus 38%).

Smith has also been accused of making gaffes. The former shadow work and pensions secretary apologised after saying he would "smash" Theresa May "back on her heels".

He will hope to perform well on tonight's TV debate to close the distance in his bid to dethrone Corbyn. You can watch the 60-minute debate from Oldham, Greater Manchester, on BBC One from 21:00 BST here.

Key dates of the Labour leadership election campaign

  • 18 July: Signing up as a registered supporter to vote in the election begins
  • 19-20 July: Number of MP nominations for each candidate published
  • 20 July: Deadline for people to sign up as a registered supporter closes
  • 22 August: Ballot papers begin to be sent out around the UK, but to Labour Party members only
  • 21 September: Deadline for ballot papers to be returned is midday
  • 24 September: The election result will be announced at a Leadership Conference in Liverpool