new zealand hockey team
New Zealand are the defending champions having won the Sultan Azlan Cup in 2015 Getty

Australia take on Trans-Tasmanian rivals New Zealand in a top of the table clash of the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2016 at Ipoh, Malaysia on 12 April.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 9.05am BST/1.35pm IST. There is no live coverage of the game in the UK. In India live coverage is available on Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 3. It can be viewed via live stream on


Two unbeaten sides will face-off when Australia take on New Zealand in the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2016 on 12 April. The Men from Down Under come into this game in brilliant form winning all three of their games so far.

Australia are currently on top of the table with nine points from three games and are on course to play the final yet again. What has been impressive is that they have bulldozed their way past the opposition so far, winning by big margins. Their scoreline reads Australia 5-1 India, Australia 5-1 Malaysia and Australia 4-1 Pakistan. With such impressive performances behind them, they surely are favourites to win the tournament.

The defending champions, New Zealand too are unbeaten in the tournament so far, but they have drawn two out of the four games played so far. With eight points from four games, the Blacksticks are on course for a knockout spot where they will be confident of defending their title.

Team news


Goalkeepers: Andrew Charter, Tyler Lovell

Defenders: Chris Ciriello, Mark Knowles, Tim Deavin, Fergus Kavanagh, Matthew Dawson, Andrew Philpott, Josh Beltz

Midfielders: Simon Orchard, Eddie Ockenden (C), Tristan White, Aran Zalewski, Kiel Brown

Forwards: Jamie Dwyer, Glenn Turner, Jake Whetton, Kieran Grovers, Jeremy Hayward, Trent Mitton, Tom Craig, Dylan Wotherspoon, Blake Govers.

Team news

New Zealand

Goalkeepers: Devon Manchester, Kyle Pontifex

Defenders: Cory Bennett, Nick Haig, Kane Russell, Alex Shaw, Brad Shaw, Blair Tarrant

Midfielders: Ryan Archibald, Shea McAleese, George Muir, Arun Panchia, Nick Ross, Nic Woods

Forwards: Marcus Child, Simon Child (C), James Coughlan, Blair Hilton, Hugo Inglis, Stephen Jenness, Shay Neal, Dominic Newman, Jared Panchia, Jacob Smith, Nick Wilson.