Bangladesh will be looking to put the Asia Cup defeat in the final against India behind them during the T20 World Cup qualifiers Getty

Bangladesh take on the Netherlands in the first Group A fixture of the 2016 ICC T20 World Cup qualifier at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala, on Wednesday, 9 March.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 9:30am GMT/3pm IST. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD in the UK. Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 3 will telecast it in India. Click here for the live streaming link.


Bangladesh are one of the firm contenders to progress to the group stages of the 2016 T20 World Cup. Their failure to make it to the group stages could have disappointed their supporters, especially considering their recent form in the 2016 Asia Cup.

Mashrafe Mortaza's side defeated Pakistan, Sri Lanka and the United Arab Emirates to make it to the final against India. However, M S Dhoni's side were too clinical against Bangladesh in the final as the hosts lost to their neighbours.

The Netherlands have managed victories over England on two occasions in the T20 World Cup in the past. The Dutch side will be looking for a victory to kick-start the tournament on a positive note as a win over Bangladesh will be a mental boost for the remaining two qualifiers.


Bangladesh to win

Betting Odds (betfair)

  • Bangladesh to win: 2/11
  • Netherlands to win: 7/2

Team News


Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Abu Hider, Al-Amin Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun,Mushfiqur Rahim,Mustafizur Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Sabbir Rahman,Soumya Sarkar, Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed


Squad: Peter Borren (c), Wesley Barresi, Ahsan Malik, Mudassar Bukhari, Ben Cooper, Tom Cooper, Vivian Kingma, Stephan Myburgh, Max O'Dowd, Michael Rippon, Pieter Seelaar, Logan van Beek, Timm van der Gugten, Roelof van der Merwe, Paul van Meekeren