Sabbir Rahman
Sabbir Rahman was Bangladesh' top scorer with 44 runs against India Getty

Bangladesh take on the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in the third clash of the 2016 Asia Cup T20 clash at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur, on Friday, 26 February.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 1:30pm GMT. There is no live coverage of the game in the UK. In India, Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 3 will telecast the match.


Both Bangladesh and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) come into the fixture after losing their first match of the tournament. The hosts lost by 45 runs to India, while defending T20 champions Sri Lanka defeated the UAE by 14 runs.

The clash between India and Bangladesh was the first match of the inaugural edition of the Asia Cup T20. M S Dhoni's side were put in to bat by Mashrafe Mortaza after winning the toss and the 2007 world champions lost their first three wickets for 42.

However, an impressive knock of 83 by Rohit Sharma and a quick 31 from Hardik Pandya down the order helped India post 166 on the board. In reply, it was Ashish Nehra's impressive spell that gave the visitors a chance to pick up early wickets.

Bangladesh never had a chance to come back after losing wickets at regular intervals, managing 121 for seven from their 20 overs.

The UAE were successful in stopping the Lankans from posting a huge total as they scored 129 for the loss of eight wickets. They had an impressive bowling attack, but it was their poor batting lineup, which managed just 115 runs, that helped Sri Lanka seal a victory. Lasith Malinga returned to action with impressive bowling figures of 4 for 26 for which he was named the man of the match.


Bangladesh to win

Betting Odds (bet365)

  • Bangladesh to win: 2/11
  • United Arab Emirates to win: 4

Team News


Possible XI: Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Mithun, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Nurul Hasan (wk), Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Taskin Ahmed, Al-Amin Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman

United Arab Emirates

Possible XI: Muhammad Kaleem, Rohan Mustafa, Shaiman Anwar, Mohammad Shahzad, Mohammad Usman, Amjad Javed (c), Saqlain Haider, Swapnil Patel (wk), Qadeer Ahmed, Ahmed Raza, Mohammad Naveed