Gary Ballance
Ballance returns to the England fold in time for the World Cup Getty Images

Gary Ballance, James Anderson and Stuart Broad have been recalled to the England squad for next year's 50-over cricket World Cup.

Demoted captain Alastair Cook, left-arm bowler Harry Gurney, and all-rounder Ben Stokes are the notable omissions from the touring party which will play a tri-series against Australia and India in January prior to the tournament.

Eoin Morgan will captain the team after being confirmed as skipper while Ian Bell and Alex Hales will compete to open alongside Moeen Ali, who impressed during the 5-2 series defeat in Sri Lanka.

National Selector, James Whitaker, said: "We have had to make some difficult decisions to get to our final squad but firmly believe that the 15 players selected offer the very best chance of success at the World Cup.

"I would like to congratulate all players on their selection and wish Peter, Eoin, and the squad all the very best. Representing England in a World Cup is a huge honour and responsibility, something all the players recognise.

"There have been a number of promising performances from players in recent series and it is important that this squad continues to develop their one-day skills quickly and players start to show the sort of consistency needed to succeed regularly on the world stage."

Ballance was omitted from the squad for the tour to Sri Lanka this winter, but returns to the fold while Anderson and Broad are available again after being passed fit following respective knee injuries.

Peter Moores' side fly out to Australia on 6 January for warm-up matches against an Australian Capital Territory XI and a Prime Minister's XI before the triangular series against Australia and India begins on 16 January.

England's World Cup campaign begins in earnest against Australia on 14 February ahead of Pool A games against co-hosts New Zealand, Scotland, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan, with the top four sides qualifying for the quarter-finals.

England 15-man World Cup squad:

Eoin Morgan, Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Joe Root, James Taylor, James Tredwell, Chris Woakes.