England have included four uncapped played in their 30-man provisional Champions Trophy squad.

Warwickshire duo Varun Chopra and Chris Wright, Yorkshire's Gary Balance as well as Middlesex's James Harris are all included.

Tim Bresnan, Kevin Pietersen and Graeme Swann, all of whom have undergone recent bouts of respective elbow and knee surgery, all earn places as does Hampshire's Danny Briggs, who withdrew from the T20 squad which faced New Zealand with ankle problem.

The 30-man squad will be cut to 15 by 4 May ahead of the tournament, taking place between 6-23 June on home turf.

Alastair Cook
Cook will be hoping to get his hands on the Champions Trophy.

National Selector Geoff Miller said: "This is a balanced squad which will provide the selectors with strong options in all areas and reflects players' performances for both the senior England teams and the England Lions and EPP squads over the winter period.

"With this country hosting the tournament for the first time since 2004, there will be every incentive for England to perform well and we anticipate intense competition for places in our final squad which will be named early next month."

While Chopra, Ballance and Wright all featured for the England Lions during the recent 4-0 series drubbing against Australia, Harris was called into the T20 squad against New Zealand as cover for the injured Stuart Meaker ahead of his non-playing role during the one-day series.

Drawn in Group A, England face Australia, New Zealand and Sri Lanka for a place in the semi-final, while in Group B India Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies will compete for the other last four place.

England's ICC Champions Trophy provisional 30-man squad:

Alastair Cook (C), James Anderson, Gary Balance, Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Varun Chopra, Rikki Clarke, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, James Harris, Craig Kieswetter, Stuart Meaker, Eoin Morgan, Graeme Onions, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, Joe Root, Graeme Swann, James Taylor, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott, Chris Wright, Luke Wright, Chris Woakes.