Run-DMC and Jefferson Airplane will be honoured with the lifetime achievement award at the 2016 Grammys. Apart from them, Ruth Brown, Celia Cruz, Earth, Wind & Fire, Herbie Hancock and Linda Ronstadt will also receive the special merit awards.

The Recording Academy announced the complete list of special merit award recipients along with the trustees award honourees on 13 January. John Cage, Fred Foster and Chris Strachwitz will be honoured by the trustees award, while EMT and Dr Harvey Fletcher will receive technical awards.

"Each year, The Academy has the distinct privilege of honouring those who have greatly contributed to our industry and cultural heritage, and this year we have a gifted and brilliant group of honorees," said Neil Portnow, president and CEO of The Recording Academy. "Their exceptional accomplishments, contributions, and artistry will continue to influence and inspire generations to come."

A concert and ceremony celebrating the honourees will be held later in the year.

The 2015 class of special merit awardees included Bee Gees, Pierre Boulez, Buddy Guy, George Harrison, Flaco Jiménez, the Louvin Brothers, and Wayne Shorter. The trustees award honourees were Richard Perry, Barry Mann, Cynthia Weil, and George Wein; Ray Kurzweil was named the technical award recipient.

The 58th Annual Grammy Awards will be broadcast live on CBS on 15 February at 8pm ET/PT.