grigor dimitrov
Grigor Dimitrov rose to number eight in the tennis rankings in 2014 Getty

Tennis player Grigor Dimitrov conceded a game after smashing his racquet three times during the final of the Istanbul Open on 1 May (Sunday). The Bulgarian, who was looking to win his first title in two years, lost 6-7, 7-6, 6-0, having been a set and 5-2 up.

The 24-year-old received his first warning for the first racquet smash in the third set, while a point was deducted for the next. The third offence incurred a game penalty, which helped unseeded Argentine Diego Schwartzman win his first ATP title.

Dimitrov later apologised for his actions, saying: "I let my family down, I let my team down, I let my fans down with that kind of behavior which I definitely apologise for."

Three destroyed racquets cost you a game according to the rules and in this case it cost him the match. The tweets below show us how Dimitrov destroyed his racquets, costing him the Istanbul Open title.