sardar singh
India skipper Sardar Singh in action against Pakistan during the World League semi-final in June 2015 Getty

India take on arch-rivals Pakistan in their fourth match of the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2016 at Ipoh, Malaysia, on 12 April.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 11.05am BST/3.35pm IST. There is no live coverage of the game in the UK. In India live coverage is available on Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 3. It can be viewed via live stream on


In what will be one of the main matches of the tournament, a resurgent India will take on Pakistan in the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup on Tuesday. The Men In Blue come into this clash after beating Canada 3-1 on 10 April and look in good form.

For long passages of play India were under tremendous pressure, but managed to pull out a win. Their defense still looks underprepared and it will be interesting to see how they perform in a high-pressure match against their rivals.

The win saw India move into third place in the round-robin standings with six points from three games played and skipper Sardar Singh will be looking for a repeat performance.

On the other hand, opponents Pakistan have struggled after a good start, where they also beat Canada 3-1. They have not been able to cope up with the brilliance of New Zealand and Australia and those two losses have seen them fall to sixth place on the points table.

What hurt the Men In Green was their penalty corner defending, especially against New Zealand. Coach Khawaja M. Junaid will be looking for a better performance from his players as this is a must win game for Pakistan to qualify for the knockout stage.

Team news


Goalkeepers: Harjot Singh, Akash Anil Chikte

Defenders: Rupinder Pal Singh, Jasjit Singh Kular, Kothajit Singh, Surender Singh, Harmanpreet Singh

Midfielders: Danish Mujtaba, Chinglensena Singh, Manpreet Singh, Sardar Singh (C), SK Uthappa, Harjeet Singh

Forwards: Talwinder Singh, Mandeep Singh, SV Sunil, Ramandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah.


Goalkeepers: Imran Butt, Mazhar Abbas

Defenders: Muhammad Imran, Muhammad Irfan (C), Syed Kashif Shah

Midfielders: Fareed Ahmed, Muhammad Rizwan junior, Muhammad Toseeq Arshad, Rashid Mahmood, Ammad Shakeel Butt.

Forwards: Muhammad Waqas Sharif, Shafqat Rasool, Muhammad Umar Bhutta, Muhammad Kashif Ali, Muhammad Dilber, Muhammad Rizwan Senior, Ali Shan, Muhammad Azfar Yaqoob.