MS Dhoni-Rohit Sharma [iplt20.com] iplt20.com

Click HERE for IBTimes UK's LIVE Blog of the second day of the 2014 IPL Auction.

Another Indian Premier League (IPL) season is coming alive as some of the biggest names in the world of cricket prepare to go under the hammer at the player auction at Bangalore's ITC Royal Gardenia.

The auction will take place on Wednesday 12 February and could extend to the following day if necessary.

Where to Watch Live

The auction starts at 4:30am GMT/10am IST. Live coverage of the action for the UK users will be available on ITV Player. Viewers in India can watch it on Set Max and Sony Six, the official broadcasters of the IPL. Neo Cricket will broadcast in the US as the auction starts at 11:30pm ET (on 12 February).


The seventh edition of the IPL will see only eight franchisees taking part. The IPL governing council terminated the ninth franchisee, Pune Warriors, after they were unable to produce bank guarantees for the 2014 season.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had earlier announced that Richard Madley, who has presided over each of the previous six IPL auctions, will host it again this year.

The franchisees have clearly done their homework as most of them have managed to keep their star players from the previous season. Delhi Daredevils are the only team not to have retained any player from the sixth edition of the IPL.

The list of 514 players made available for the auction includes 219 capped players and 87 overseas players. Kevin Pietersen, Virender Sehwag, Jacques Kallis, David Warner, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Johnson and the latest sensation in the world cricket, Corey Anderson, are the big names to go under the hammer.

Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, Lasith Malinga, Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni, Dwayne Bravo have all been retained by the franchisees they played for last time.